Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Club Talk

AIB Club Hurling Team of The Year Announced

The GAA will honour the top GAA club stars this Friday, March 10th, in Croke Park for their achievements this past season

The 2022/2023 AIB GAA Hurling Club Team of The Year has been unveiled
today, with #TheToughest club hurlers of the season named. This season’s AIB GAA All-Ireland Hurling Senior Club Championships will undoubtedly go down in the history books, having featured some truly tantalizing matches, where underdogs stood tall and old stalwarts showed us why they so often reign supreme in what was a fantastic season of club hurling.

The nominees for this year’s AIB GAA Club Hurling Player of the Year were also announced, with Joey Holden and Adrian Mullen from this year’s All-Ireland club champions, Ballyhale Shamrocks (Kilkenny) each nominated for Player of the Year, alongside Stephen O’Keeffe from All-Ireland semi- finalists, Ballygunner (Waterford).

The AIB GAA Club Hurling Player of the Year will be unveiled this
Friday, March 10 th at the AIB GAA Club Player Awards ceremony at Croke Park.
Following their All-Ireland success, Ballyhale Shamrocks dominate the selection on the AIB GAA Club Hurling Team of the Year, with the Kilkenny outfit receiving eight nods for selection, after they scooped their ninth AIB GAA All-Ireland Hurling Senior Club Championship title this season.

They overcame the devastation of last year’s final, which saw them lose out at the hands of Ballygunner in a thriller, and marched on this year to overcome Ulster champions, Dunloy in the final. Ballyhale’s Killian Corcoran and Joey Holden have been named in the full back line, with Richie Reid and Darragh
Corcoran featuring in the half back line. Adrian Mullen is named at midfield, while Eoin Cody, TJ Reid and Colin Fennelly all feature in the forward line for the AIB GAA Club Hurling Team of the Year.

All-Ireland finalists and Ulster champions Dunloy have three players named on the AIB GAA Club Hurling Team of the Year following a stellar season that saw them claim the Ulster title once again and reach a fifth All-Ireland final. Ryan McGarry and Kevin Molloy have been named in the Team of the Year back line, while Conal Cunning has been selected at corner forward. Munster champions and All-Ireland semi-finalists, Ballygunner, round out the selection for the AIB GAA Club Hurling
Team of the Year, with four players named on the team. Stephen O’Keeffe takes the slot between the posts for the Waterford side, while Conor Sheahan joins Ballyhale’s Adrian Mullen at midfield, and Pauric Mahony and Patrick Fitzgerald have been named in the forward line.

Commenting on the Awards, AIB Chief Executive Officer Colin Hunt said: “AIB is proud to once more be joining with the GAA to honour these fantastic players at this year’s AIB GAA Club Player awards, following an incredible season of AIB GAA All-Ireland Hurling Senior Club Championship action.

The awards recognise the incredible feats achieved by club players across Ireland and, on behalf of everyone at AIB, we extend our congratulations to all of the players who have been selected on the AIB GAA Club Hurling Team of the Year. The incredible effort and determination to achieve success with your clubs epitomises everything that is special about the AIB GAA All-Ireland Club Championships, and we are extremely proud to be celebrating our 32 nd year of supporting the Club

We would like to congratulate all of the players who have so proudly represented
their clubs and communities with skill and determination this season, and look forward to honouring these incredible athletes at our awards ceremony at Croke Park this Friday evening.” Uachtarán Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Larry McCarthy added: “

The 2022/2023 AIB GAA Club Championships season has been another terrific showcase of our national games. I offer my warmest congratulations to all of the players who have been named on the 2022/2023 AIB GAA Club Hurling
Team of the Year.

The AIB GAA Club Championships are unique and special competitions, and are the
heart of communities. Congratulations to all of the players who have represented their club this year with such pride and honour, and to those who have been named on the Team of the Year.

We look forward to welcoming you all to Croke Park this Friday evening to mark your achievements over the past season.”

Full details of the AIB GAA Club Hurling Team of The Year below:  

  1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)
  2. Killian Corcoran (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
  3. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
  4. Ryan McGarry (Dunloy)
  5. Kevin Molloy (Dunloy)
  6. Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
  7. Darragh Corcoran (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
  8. Conor Sheahan (Ballygunner)
  9. Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
  10. Eoin Cody (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
  11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
  12. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)
  13. Conal Cunning (Dunloy)
  14. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
  15. Patrick Fitzgerald (Ballygunner)
    • Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
    • Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
    • Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)   

The AIB GAA All-Ireland Club Championships features some of #TheToughest players from communities all across Ireland. It is these very communities that the players represent that make the AIB GAA All-Ireland Club Championships unique. Now in its 32 nd  year supporting the Club Championships, AIB is extremely proud to once again celebrate the communities that play such a role in sustaining our national games. From players to coaches, volunteers to referees, to the passionate fans who will fill stadiums across Ireland this weekend, AIB thanks all whose work often goes unseen.

To keep up to date with the AIB GAA All-Ireland Club Championships and the AIB Camogie All-Ireland

Club Championships, and for content from this year’s Club Player Awards, follow @AIB_GAA on

Twitter and Instagram, or on Facebook at

You May Also Like


There is plenty of action on our TV screens this weekend, from hurling semi-finals to football league deciders


Another exciting weekend of the National Football and Hurling League has finished with some interesting results


‘We obviously know it’s going to be a massive jump between junior and intermediate. We know what we’re up against.'


Claire Phelan the 29-year-old Lisdowney defender isn't ready to head off into the sunset after getting married.