Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Best Kerry players to win an All-Ireland Junior Club title

David Clifford joined some famous names from Kerry who have won All-Ireland Junior Club Championship titles

David Clifford accepts his man of the match award after Fossa’s win over Stewartstown Harps.

When Kerry overcame Galway last July, many were left pondering whether David Clifford is already the greatest footballer to ever grace Croke Park on the sport’s biggest day.

Whether or not he is the very best to have won an All-Ireland Senior crown, there is little doubt after Sunday’s tour de force that he is the best to have sealed an All-Ireland Junior Club title.

The Fossa colossus joins a long list of esteemed Kingdom stars to have led their club to the national junior triumph in recent years.

Jack Barry and Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil, 2020)

Wexford club Rathgarogue-Cushinstown must have been left double-checking that it was indeed the All-Ireland Junior final, when Kerry midfield pair Jack Barry and Diarmuid O’Connor went to contest the throw-in for Na Gaeil in the 2020 showpiece.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Having led the Tralee club to an All-Ireland title three years ago, the pair since went on to bring Na Gaeil up to the senior ranks in the Kingdom.

Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh-Glencar, 2017)

Four-time All-Ireland winner with Kerry Darran O’Sullivan was at the tail-end of his career when he arrived to Croke Park with his club, Glenbeigh-Glencar.

O’Sullivan helped the side to a 1-14 to 1-11 final victory over Rock St Patrick’s of Tyrone.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Killian Spillane and Adrian Spillane (Templenoe, 2016)

The rural club have enjoyed stunning success in recent years, reaching the Kerry Senior Club decider in 2022.

They tasted All-Ireland Junior glory seven years ago, as young duo Killian and Adrian Spillane inspired them past Ardnaree Sarsfields of Mayo, 4-13 to 1-9.

Bryan Sheehan (St Mary’s, 2011)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Kerry forward Sheehan rose to the occasion in 2011, as he scored 1-7 in a 14-point victory over Cavan outfit Swanlinbar.

Paul Galvin and Éamonn Fitzmaurice (Finuge, 2005)

Clifford became the second player to win a Footballer of the Year award and an All-Ireland Junior title, following in the footsteps of Paul Galvin.

Interestingly, both Fossa and Finuge defeated the same opponents, Stewartstown Harps in the final.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Galvin and Fitzmaurice were to the fore in 2005, as the North Kerry club ran out 1-14 to 0-6 winners.

You May Also Like


The lads are back once again to talk all things GAA.


The lads are reflecting on a dramatic weekend of club action and discussing the latest across the world of GAA.


Another big live show as we preview the All-Ireland SHC club semi-finals and talk to some big names in the GAA.


Enjoy our latest offering and leave a comment below. 𝘈𝘴 𝘢𝘯 𝘈𝘮𝘢𝘻𝘰𝘯 𝘈𝘴𝘴𝘰𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦, 𝘸𝘦 𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘯 𝘧𝘳𝘰𝘮 𝘲𝘶𝘢𝘭𝘪𝘧𝘺𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘱𝘶𝘳𝘤𝘩𝘢𝘴𝘦𝘴 🎁 𝗖𝗵𝗿𝗶𝘀𝘁𝗺𝗮𝘀 𝗴𝗶𝗳𝘁 𝗶𝗱𝗲𝗮𝘀 𝗳𝗼𝗿 𝗵𝗶𝗺...