Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Club Talk

Aussie deserved red again | Shels shock in Wexford | Lough’ and load in Tipp | Ballyhale Shamrocking

Austin Gleeson sees red for the second week running — one of the many stories covered in this Monday’s Club Talk: Hurling

Austin Gleeson sees red for the second week running — one of the many stories covered in this Monday’s Club Talk: Hurling. Brought to you by — get 15% off jerseys with promo code ‘OurGame’.

As always, a huge weekend of club hurling action has delivered drama.

Austin Gleeson received his marching orders for a second week in a row but still Mount Sion have qualified for the Waterford semi-finals after a tough win over De La Salle.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Shelmaliers and Naomh Eanna will contest the Wexford final after wins over Glynn-Barntown and Oulart-The Ballagh respectively, while Kilkenny played out their final round of groups games.

Kilruane MacDonagh’s fell to a disappointing loss to Loughmore-Castleiney in a make-or-break clash in Tipperary, as the Premier County was whittled down to just eight teams.

Video time stamps:
1:30 mins — Wexford championship
8 — Waterford
17 — Kerry
18:45 — no dressing rooms is a positive
23:45 — Kilkenny
33 — Tipperary
49 — Tipp power rankings
51 — Waterford power rankings

Selected results
Wexford SHC
Shelmaliers 3-20 Glynn-Barntown 0-16
Naomh Éanna 1-20 Oulart-the-Ballagh 1-19

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Waterford SHC
Passage 1-14 Roanmore 0-13
Ballygunner 2-18 Fourmilewater 0-12
Lismore 2-22 Abbeyside 3-11
Mount Sion 3-18 De La Salle 2-17

Semi-final draw:
Ballygunner v Lismore  in Fraher Field on Saturday August 22nd at 6.30pm
Mount Sion v Passage in Walsh Park on Sunday August 23rd at 2pm

Kerry SHC
Abbeydorney 1-18 Lixnaw 0-19
Kilmoyley 0-15 St Brendan’s 0-12
Ballyduff 1-20 Ballyheigue 0-15

Kilkenny SH
James Stephens 2-16 O’Loughlin Gaels 2-16
Bennettsbridge 2-22 Tullaroan 1-18
Ballyhale Shamrocks 3-22 Danesfort 1-16
Dicksboro 3-19 Erin’s Own 1-12
Clara 3-23 Rower-Inistioge 2-16
Mullinavat 0-18 Graigue-Ballycallan 0-13

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Kilkenny draw
League final – O’Loughlin Gaels v Dicksboro
Shield final – James Stephens v Clara
Preliminary quarter-finals:
Danesfort v Mullinavat
Tullaroan v Erins Own
Ballyhale Shamrocks v The Rower Inistioge
Bennettsbridge v Graigue Ballycallan
*Winners play O’Loughlin Gaels, Dicksboro, James Stephens or Clara

Mayo SHC
Tooreen 4-21 Westport 0-10
Ballyhaunis 0-21 Castlebar Mitchels 1-9

Sligo SHC
Coolera-Strandhill 1-14 Calry St Joseph’s 2-8

Tipperary SHC
Kiladangan 4-15 Drom-Inch 0-18
JK Bracken’s 1-17 Roscrea 0-20
Holycross-Ballycahill 1-20 Clonoulty-Rossmore 2-17
Nenagh Eire Og 2-20 Eire Og Annacarty Donohill 1-14
Toomevara 3-19 Burgess 1-15
Borris-Ileigh 1-20 Upperchurch-Drombane 2-10
Kilruane MacDonaghs 2-12 Loughmore/Castleiney 2-14
Thurles Sarsfields 1-25 Moycarkey-Borris 0-19

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Tipp draw
Top seeds: Kiladangan, Clonoulty-Rossmore, Thurles Sarsfields, Borris-Ileigh.

Second seeds: Drom & Inch, Nenagh Éire Óg, Loughmore-Castleiney, Toomevara.

Westmeath SHC
Castletown-Geoghegan 1-24 Delvin 0-14

Wicklow SHC
Kiltegan 0-14 Carnew Emmets 0-14

Donegal SHC
Setanta 5-17 Sean MacCumhaills 0-9

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

📮 Sign up to the OurGame newsletter — a daily email reminder of our latest videos, articles, quizzes and more.

Don’t forget to subscribe to the OurGame YouTube page for live streams and more.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like

Club Talk

Ballymun's fantastic Dublin final performance, Mountbellew Moylough beating Corofin, pain for Noel McGrath and Loughmore-Castleiney, and more

Club Talk

Shane Stapleton and Michael Verney reflect on county final wins for Kiladangan, Na Piarsaigh, Cuala, Kilmoyley and much more

Club Talk

Shane Stapleton and Phil Lanigan of the Irish Daily Mail on the big talking points — including war in Dublin, dual clubs excelling, and...

Club Talk

Shane Stapleton and Michael Verney debate the big games of the weekend in Club Talk: Hurling — as Dunloy became kings of Antrim once...

error: Content is protected.