Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Kilkenny star set for first competitive start in two and a half years

Former Hurler of the Year Richie Hogan ready for action as Cats show strong hand for League semi-final clash with old rivals Cork

Former Hurler of the Year Richie Hogan will make his first start for Kilkenny in two and a half years during their Division 1 HL semi-final against Cork in Nowlan Park tomorrow (throw-in at 4.0).

Hogan has been derailed with injuries in recent seasons and his role greatly reduced to that of an impact sub towards the end of Brian Cody’s reign but the 34-year-old is primed to start once again for new boss Derek Lyng.

The Danesfort attacker hasn’t featured from the off for the Cats since their 2020 All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Waterford in late November of that year with his last appearance in black and amber coming off the bench against Limerick in last year’s All-Ireland final.

That was his sole competitive appearance for Kilkenny last season while it was similar the previous year as his only action for the Cats was a late appearance during extra-time of their 2021 All-Ireland semi-final loss to Cork.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Lyng has shuffled his deck once again from last week’s victory over Waterford with three-time All-star goalkeeper Eoin Murphy returning between the posts while 2022 Young Hurler of the Year Mikey Butler starts at corner-back.

All-Star full-back Huw Lawlor switches to centre-back while Alan Murphy is rewarded for his impressive cameo against the Déise with a starting berth in midfield and All-Ireland U-20 winner Timmy Clifford gets to stake his claim at wing-forward.

Meanwhile, Pat Ryan has kept star forward Patrick Horgan in reserve for the last four clash with Pádraig Power given another chance to impress at full-forward in a side which sees Eoin Downey and Ciarán Joyce manning the No 3 and 6 shirts once again.

CORK (v Kilkenny): P Collins; N O’Leary, E Downey, D Cahalane; T O’Connell, C Joyce, R Downey; B Roche, E Twomey; C Cahalane, C Lehane, S Barrett; S Kingston, P Power, J O’Connor.
Kilkenny: E Murphy; M Butler, T Walsh, P Walsh; D Corcoran, H Lawlor, D Blanchfield; C Fogarty, A Murphy; T Clifford, J Donnelly, P Deegan; B Drennan, M Keoghan, R Hogan.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like


Cork legend Jimmy Barry-Murphy gives his thoughts on whether or not iconic forward Patrick Horgan will play next season


Cork legend Jimmy Barry-Murphy reflects on Cork's championship campaign as Pat Ryan saw his side exit after their Munster run


Former Treaty star Moran sees no reason why Cork legend won't continue on for the Rebels while in such sensational form


Shane, Michael, and former GAA President Nickey Brennan review Wexford's win over Kilkenny and it not being aired live