Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Clare season preview 2020: toughest path for Brian Lohan

Shane Stapleton and Michael Verney talk through the chances of Brian Lohan’s Clare. Brought to you by

Shane Stapleton and Michael Verney talk through the chances of Brian Lohan’s Clare. Brought to you by — use the promo code ‘OurGame’ for 15% off all jerseys.

Clare last won a Munster title in 1998, and it’s the longest-running drought in the province.

The Banner have reached just four finals since last lifting the crown in 1998, and each time went home empty-handed.

This year, they have been handed the toughest possible route. Victory over 2018 All-Ireland champions Limerick would mean a date with 2019 kingpins Tipperary one week later.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The prize for winning that? A Munster final against the winners of Cork v Waterford.

Throw into the mix that this is a Clare side coming off the back of a very disappointing championship season last year, where both the Premier and Treaty beat them by double-digits, and it does not auger well.

Factor in that this is Brian Lohan’s first season as an inter-county manager, and that he is short some key players, and it could be a disastrous championship.

Colm Galvin, John Conlon, Peter Duggan and Podge Collins have all won All Stars in the past, and none are available to a side that would already been down the pecking order.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Lohan does have Tony Kelly, a goal threat in Shane O’Donnell, and a number of other seasoned players such as David McInerney and Pat O’Connor.

Click play on the video at the top of the page to watch the discussion.

Brought to you by — use the promo code ‘OurGame’ for 15% off all jerseys.

Manager: Brian Lohan (1st year)
2019 Summary: Didn’t get out of Munster, beat Cork and Waterford, lost to Limerick and Tipperary
Ins: David Reidy, Paul Flanagan
Out: Colm Galvin (injured), John Conlon (injured), Peter Duggan, Podge Collins, Niall Deasy
Championship odds: Munster 12/1; A-I (22/1)
Last Munster Championship title: 1998 (6)
Last All-Ireland win: 2013 (4)
All Stars: David McInerney, Tony Kelly
2020 thus far: Undefeated in the League and finished top of their table. Beat Dublin, Wexford, Carlow and Laois, drew with Kilkenny.
First game: Munster quarter-final v Limerick

📮 Sign up to the OurGame newsletter — a daily email reminder of our latest videos, articles, quizzes and more.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Don’t forget to subscribe to the OurGame YouTube page for live streams and more.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Test your knowledge by taking on our All-Ireland hurling championship 2020 quiz, then share with friends to see if they can beat your score

Sticky Post

Killian Clarke speaks of his experience of playing against Dublin in the All-Ireland semi-final, and previews the final clash against Mayo


Shane Stapleton and Michael Verney sat down to pick their 2020 All Stars hurling team live, as viewers sent in their comments


Enda Varley previews the All-Ireland final clash with Dublin, and explains why James Horan was caught between two stools in 2019

error: Content is protected.