Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Clare set to appeal All Star’s suspension

Clare look set to appeal a red card issued to their reigning All Star, with the player set to miss the Munster opener v Tipperary

Clare look set to appeal a red card issued to their reigning All Star David Fitzgerald against Cork, with the player set to miss the Munster opener against Tipperary.

Clare are set to appeal the red card issued to David Fitzgerald against Cork which will rule the player out of the opening round of the Munster SHC championship.

The Inagh-Kilnamona star, who won an All Star in 2022, was dismissed in the 65th minute of Sunday’s clash with the Rebels after an incident involving Eoin Downey.

The Banner open up their provincial campaign on Sunday 23 April against the Premier County at Cusack Park, who they last year beat at Semple Stadium.

For Cork manager Pat Ryan, there was also some negative news as Seamus Harnedy and Declan Dalton both limped off in the opening half with leg injuries.

Late on, Conor Lehane and Conor Cahalane were the stars of the show with injury-time points to secure a draw and maintain the Leesiders’ unbeaten record.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

With a Munster Championship rematch looming in nine weeks, both teams played their cards close to their chests.

The final score of 2-18 each proved to be a fair result, with Cork already through to the league’s penultimate stage.

The Rebels will now face Kilkenny in the semi-final while Clare have five weeks to get ready for their championship opener against Tipp at home.

Clare: Eibhear Quilligan; Aaron Fitzgerald, Conor Cleary, Paul Flanagan; Diarmuid Ryan (0-01), John Conlon, David McInerney; Seadna Morey, Tony Kelly; David Fitzgerald (0-03), Cathal Malone, Ryan Taylor (0-01); David Reidy (1-00), Aidan McCarthy (1-11, 0-09f), Ian Galvin (0-01)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Subs: Darragh Lohan for Fitzgerald (HT), Peter Duggan for Galvin (57), Robin Mounsey (0-01) for Reidy (57), Davie Conroy for Morey (62), Jack Kirwan for Taylor (68),

Cork: Ger Collins; Niall O’Leary, Daire O’Leary, Eoin Roche; Cathal Cormack, Robert Downey, Cormac O’Brien; Brian Roche (0-01), Ethan Twomey; Declan Dalton (0-04, 0-03f), Seamus Harnedy (1-03), Brian Hayes (0-02); Alan Cadogen (0-01), Padraig Power (1-01), Jack O’Connor (0-01)

Subs: Conor Lehane (0-04, 0-03f) for Harnedy (29, inj), Conor Cahalane (0-01) for Dalton (34, inj), Shane Kingston for Cadogen (45), Ger Mellerick for B. Roche (55), Damien Cahalane for D. O’Leary (58)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


The lads are back once again to talk all things GAA.


The lads are reflecting on a dramatic weekend of club action and discussing the latest across the world of GAA.


Another big live show as we preview the All-Ireland SHC club semi-finals and talk to some big names in the GAA.


Enjoy our latest offering and leave a comment below. 𝘈𝘴 𝘢𝘯 𝘈𝘮𝘢𝘻𝘰𝘯 𝘈𝘴𝘴𝘰𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦, 𝘸𝘦 𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘯 𝘧𝘳𝘰𝘮 𝘲𝘶𝘢𝘭𝘪𝘧𝘺𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘱𝘶𝘳𝘤𝘩𝘢𝘴𝘦𝘴 🎁 𝗖𝗵𝗿𝗶𝘀𝘁𝗺𝗮𝘀 𝗴𝗶𝗳𝘁 𝗶𝗱𝗲𝗮𝘀 𝗳𝗼𝗿 𝗵𝗶𝗺...