Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


“It’s going to be the most competitive Leinster final in years”

Joe Kernan joins Shane and Michael to preview the Leinster senior football final between Dublin and Louth at Croke Park

Joe Kernan joins Shane and Michael to preview the Leinster football final between Dublin and Louth.


Dublin and Louth meet in the Leinster final for the first time since 1958 when Dublin won by 1-11 to 1-6.

Louth were reigning All-Ireland champions at the time, having beat Cork in the previous year’s final.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Dublin are bidding for their 62nd Leinster title and their 13th in a row. Louth are seeking their ninth title and their first since 1957.

Joe Kernan gives his thoughts on this big Leinster clash, and why he thinks it could be one of the closest in modern times.


  • Dublin 4-30 Laois 2-9 (quarter-final)
  • Dublin 0-14 Kildare 0-12 (semi-final)

Top Scorers

  1. Con O’Callaghan 1-9 (0-3 frees, 0-1 mark)
  2. Colm Basquel 1-6
  3. Ciaran Kilkenny 1-5
  4. Paul Mannion 0-6 (0-1 free)
  5. Lee Gannon 1-1

  • Louth 2-10 Westmeath 1-11 (quarter-final)
  • Louth 0-27 Offaly 2-15 aet (semi-final)
    Top Scorers
  1. Sam Mulroy 1-10 (0-6 frees, 1-0 pen)
  2. Ciaran Downey 0-7
  3. Conor Early 0-4
  4. Liam Jackson 1-1
  5. Conor Grimes 0-4


  • 2019: Dublin 5-21 Louth 0-10 (Leinster quarter-final)
  • 2012: Dublin 2-22 Louth 0-12 (Leinster quarter-final)
  • 2010: Dublin 2-14 Louth 0-13 (All-Ireland qualifier)
  • 2008: Dublin 1-22 Louth 0-12 (Leinster quarter-final)
  • 2003: Dublin 1-19 Louth 0-9 (Leinster quarter-final)


  • 1958: Dublin 1-11 Louth 1-6
  • 1957: Louth 2-9 Dublin 1-7
  • 1934: Dublin 2-9 Louth 1-10 (second replay)
  • 1934: Dublin 3-2 Louth 2-5 (replay)
  • 1934: Dublin 1-2 Louth 0-5

*This will be the 57th Dublin-Louth championship game, having met for the first time in 1889. Dublin have won 37 to Louth’s 13 and six draws in the previous 56.

*Louth are seeking their first championship win over Dublin since 1973 when they won a Leinster second round replay by 1-8 to 0-9 in Pairc Tailteann. Twelve of the 17 Dublin players who featured that day were on the team that won the All-Ireland title a year later.

*Dublin beat Louth by 0-16 to 1-6 in this year’s Division 2 clash in Croke Park in March. Dublin led 0-5 to 0-3 at half-time.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

*Louth were last in the Leinster final in 2010 when they lost to Meath. Dublin’s last defeat in the Leinster final was in 2001 when they lost to Meath. They have been in 18 finals since then (missing out in 2003-04-10) winning all 18.

*Dublin have conceded no goals in any of their last seven championship games with Louth.

*The winners will be in the same group as Sligo, Roscommon and Kildare in the All-Ireland series. The losers will be in the same group as Kerry, Mayo and Cork.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


The lads are back once again to talk all things GAA.


The lads are reflecting on a dramatic weekend of club action and discussing the latest across the world of GAA.


Another big live show as we preview the All-Ireland SHC club semi-finals and talk to some big names in the GAA.


Enjoy our latest offering and leave a comment below. 𝘈𝘴 𝘢𝘯 𝘈𝘮𝘢𝘻𝘰𝘯 𝘈𝘴𝘴𝘰𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦, 𝘸𝘦 𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘯 𝘧𝘳𝘰𝘮 𝘲𝘶𝘢𝘭𝘪𝘧𝘺𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘱𝘶𝘳𝘤𝘩𝘢𝘴𝘦𝘴 🎁 𝗖𝗵𝗿𝗶𝘀𝘁𝗺𝗮𝘀 𝗴𝗶𝗳𝘁 𝗶𝗱𝗲𝗮𝘀 𝗳𝗼𝗿 𝗵𝗶𝗺...