Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Limerick on top again with brilliant win over Waterford

Shane Stapleton gives his instant reaction to Limerick beating Waterford 0-30 to 0-19 to reclaim the Liam MacCarthy Cup

Shane Stapleton gives his instant reaction to Limerick beating Waterford 0-30 to 0-19 to reclaim the Liam MacCarthy Cup.

Limerick 0-30 Waterford 0-19
Limerick regained their All-Ireland title with an 11-point win over Waterford at Croke Park.

Performances for the ages from wing-forwards Tom Morrissey (0-5) and Gearoid Hegarty (0-7) gave the Deise too steep a hill to climb.

It was a complete performance from John Kiely’s side, as nine different players popped up with scores from play, while Waterford could must just 0-9 from play overall.

The scoreline was somewhat complimentary of the returning champions as Liam Cahill’s men pushed for goals in the latter stages, but there was little doubting the superiority of Limerick.

Click play on the video at the top of the page for Shane Stapleton’s instant reaction.

Limerick: A Gillane (0-10, 6 frees); G Hegarty (0-7); T Morrissey (0-5); S Flanagan (0-3); W O’Donoghue, D Hannon, K Hayes, P Ryan, D Byrnes (0-1 each).
Waterford: S Bennett (0-10, 9 frees); A Gleeson (0-5, 1 sideline, 1 free); K Bennett, D Hutchinson, K Moran, C Lyons (0-1 each).

LIMERICK: N Quaid; S Finn, D Morrissey, B Nash; D Byrnes, D Hannon (c), K Hayes; D O’Donovan, W O’Donoghue; G Hegarty, C Lynch, T Morrissey; A Gillane, S Flanagan, G Mulcahy.
Subs: P Casey for G Mulcahy (49); D Reidy for D O’Donovan (59); P Ryan for S Flanagan (63); A Breen for A Gillane (69); P O’Loughlin for K Hayes (inj 70+1).

WATERFORD: S O’Keeffe; I Kenny, C Prunty (c), S McNulty; K Moran, T de Búrca, C Lyons; J Barron, K Bennett; N Montgomery, A Gleeson, J Fagan; D Hutchinson, S Bennett, J Prendergast.
Subs: I Daly for T de Búrca (inj 21); D Lyons for K Bennett (40); C Gleeson for N Montgomery (44); P Curran for K Moran (52); S Fives for I Kenny (55).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


The Waterford county board will this week make a decision on their Under-20 management for 2022 — with a ticket of Andy Moloney, Dan...


Kilmallock star Graeme Mulcahy scored 0-7 in the county final win over Patrickswell on Sunday, ending their wait for glory. Get 15% off


A look at Clare GAA, and the ‘Saffron & Blue Plan: Clare GAA Five Year Plan’. Get 10% off the @torpey___ Bambú stick with...


We’re looking ahead to the Limerick SHC final between Kilmallock v Patrickswell. Get 10% off the @torpey___ Bambú stick with promo code ‘OurGame’ –...