Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Best All-Ireland winners

Quarter-final #3: Dublin 2016 v Tyrone 2008

We look at the Dublin team that went back-to-back under Jim Gavin in 2016 against Mickey Harte’s bearded Tyrone brigade of 2008

In the third quarter-final in our Best All-Ireland winner of the past 16 years series, we look at the Dublin team that went back-to-back in 2016 against Mickey Harte’s bearded Tyrone brigade of 2008.


This poll has ended (since 21 days).

Dublin’s 2016 crew saw off the Kerry side of 2009 in the first round, while the Kingdom’s class of 2006 was no match for the Tyrone side that stood above the rest two years later.

This quarter-final class pits the multi-All-Ireland winning minds of Jim Gavin and Mickey Harte, and that’s just one of many interesting match-ups.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Who would the Dubs put on the 2008 iteration of Sean Cavanagh, who was at that time proving an irresistible force — winning Footballer of the Year from full-forward?

Would Michael Fitzsimons, who was sprung into the starting XV for the All-Ireland final replay against Mayo of 2016 where he got man of the match, have been up to the task?

This was a Dublin side that sealed a fourth All-Ireland from six seasons, and in this year bent Leinster to their will, before overcoming Donegal, Kerry and the Connacht side.

Brian Fenton won the Sunday Game Footballer of the Year, and his form that year might well have been too much for anyone the Red Hands had at that time.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Tyrone, for their part, lifted Sam Maguire for the third time in five campaigns, and were led by the likes of Brian Dooher, the McMahons, Philip Jordan, Davy Harte and other class players.

Their bout with Kerry in 2008 was considered a clash for team of the decade, and again the Ulster men came out on top against the kingpins of Munster.

Dublin, without a shadow of a doubt, were the team of the following decade, and those two finals against Mayo were among the most pulsating clashes even seen at Croke Park.

Shane Stapleton and Michael Verney weigh up the pros and cons of these two teams, their paths to the final, the managers involved, and the quality of their players.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Then it is up to you, the viewers, to vote for who goes through to the semi-finals.

Best All-Ireland winner competition

📮 Sign up to the OurGame newsletter — a daily email reminder of our latest videos, articles, quizzes and more.

Don’t forget to subscribe to the OurGame YouTube page for live streams and more.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Jake

    June 11, 2020 at 11:40 pm

    I’m no Dub but I think there’s a lot of anti-Dub bias in these votes. Dublin win this easily

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Subscribe to our newsletter

You May Also Like


Shane Stapleton takes a look at the order of merit in the small ball game with the first Hurling Power Rankings ahead of the...


Meyler's underage career, lining out for Wexford and Cork, playing alongside JBM, and leading Kerry to that famous championship win over Waterford in 1993


Shane Stapleton and Michael Verney look through the annals at the Kildare v Meath GAA rivalry — some classic matches and many great players


Dublin GAA have stated that provincial and All-Ireland club championship competitions have been cancelled at senior, intermediate and junior grades

error: Content is protected !!