Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Waterford and Limerick name All-Ireland final teams | a big change

Shane Stapleton gives his thoughts on the teams named for the All-Ireland final clash of Limerick v Waterford

Shane Stapleton gives his thoughts on the teams named for the All-Ireland final clash of Limerick v Waterford.

Liam Cahill has made one change to the Waterford team for the All-Ireland final clash with Limerick.

Neil Montgomery, who has been used as a substitute thus far, has been named in the starting XV ahead of Jake Dillon.

With Kieran Bennett rezoned to midfield in place of the latter, who was substituted midway through the first half against Kilkenny, Montgomery will line out at centre-forward.

Shane Fives, who missed the semi-final win due to a quad injury, has returned to the match-day panel but Ian Kenny retains his place at corner-back.

For their part, Limerick have named an unchanged side from their three-point win over Galway in the final-four.

Aaron Gillane, who had missed a certain amount of training in the aftermath of that win after suffering a heavy hit challenging Gearóid McInerney, has won his fitness battle.

LIMERICK: N Quaid (Effin); S Finn (Bruff), D Morrissey (Ahane), B Nash (South Liberties); D Byrnes (Patrickswell), D Hannon (captain, Adare), K Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry); W O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh), D O’Donovan (Doon); G Hegarty (South Liberties), C Lynch (Patrickswell), T Morrissey (Ahane); A Gillane (Patrickwell), S Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), G Mulcahy (Kilmallock).

Subs: B Hennessy (Kilmallock), C Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), A Breen (Na Piarsaigh), P Casey (Na Piarsaigh), R Connolly (Adare), A Costello (Kilmallock), R English (Doon), R Hanley (Kilmallock), P O’Loughlin (Kilmallock), D Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), P Ryan (Doon).

WATERFORD: S O’Keeffe (Ballygunner); I Kenny (Ballygunner), C Prunty (captain, Abbeyside), S McNulty (De La Salle); Calum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower), T de Búrca (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg), K Moran (De La Salle); J Barron (Fourmilewater), K Bennett (Ballysaggart); J Fagan (De La Salle), N Montgomery (Abbeyside), S Bennett (Ballysaggart; D Hutchinson (Ballygunner), A Gleeson (Mount Sion), J Prendergast (Lismore).

Subs: B Nolan (Roanmore), P Hogan (Ballygunner), M O’Brien (Ferrybank), M Kearney (Ballyduff Upper), P Curran (Dungarvan), C Dunford (Colligan), C Gleeson (Fourmilewater), D Lyons (Dungarvan), J Dillon (De La Salle), I Daly (Lismore), S Fives (Tourin).

📮 Sign up to the OurGame newsletter — a daily email reminder of our latest videos, articles, quizzes and more.

Don’t forget to subscribe to the OurGame YouTube page for live streams and more.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like


See the full show by joining the OurGame Supporters Club for €5 per month: Alternatively, if you wish to support OurGame, you can...


See the full show on Patreon: Alternatively, if you wish to support OurGame, you can also do so through PayPal: LIVE CLUB...


Tyrone and Mayo supporters chat with Shane Stapleton at the All-Ireland SFC final at Croke Park, which the Red Hands won by five points....


James Horan speaks glowingly about his Mayo side despite a tough All-Ireland final defeat to Tyrone at Croke Park. PATREON: Join the OurGame Supporters...