Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


All Star football nominations announced

Conor Meyler, Kieran McGeary and Lee Keegan have been nominated for the PwC Footballer of the Year award for 2021.

Conor Meyler, Kieran McGeary and Lee Keegan have been nominated for the PwC Footballer of the Year award for 2021, as the All Stars nominations are announced.

The Mayo man — like Cian Lynch in hurling — has previously collected the award (2016), but will face stiff competition from the Red Hands duo.

Matthew Tierney (Galway), Oisín Mullin (Mayo), Darragh Canavan (Tyrone) have all been nominated for the Young Footballer of the Year.

Like Limerick in hurling, Tyrone have won 15 All Stars nominations, while just over half of the Mayo side will see their names go forward.

Seven of Kerry’s players have made the 45-man list in what is Peter Kean’s final season in charge, while outgoing All-Ireland champions Dublin have five.

Monaghan have received three, Armagh two, while there is one apiece for Clare, Cork, Donegal, Galway, and Kildare.

PwC All-Stars Football nominations 2021

Rob Hennelly (Mayo), Rory Beggan (Monaghan), Niall Morgan (Tyrone)

Seán Meehan (Cork)

Brian Howard, Mick Fitzsimons (both Dublin)

Brian Ó Beaglaoich, Tom O’Sullivan, Gavin White (all Kerry)

Stephen Coen, Patrick Durcan, Lee Keegan, Pádraig O’Hora (all Mayo)

Ryan McAnespie (Monaghan)

Frank Burns, Pádraig Hampsey, Peter Harte, Conor Meyler, Michael McKernan, Ronan McNamee, Kieran McGeary (all Tyrone)

Oisín O’Neill (Armagh)

Brian Fenton (Dublin)

David Moran (Kerry)

Matthew Ruane (Mayo)

Brian Kennedy, Conn Kilpatrick (both Tyrone)

Rian O’Neill (Armagh)

Eoin Cleary (Clare)

Michael Langan (Donegal)

Cormac Costello, Ciarán Kilkenny (both Dublin)

Shane Walsh (Galway)

David Clifford, Paudie Clifford, Seán O’Shea (all Kerry)

Daniel Flynn (Kildare)

Tommy Conroy, Ryan O’Donoghue (both Mayo)

Jack McCarron (Monaghan)

Mattie Donnelly, Darren McCurry, Conor McKenna, Cathal McShane, Niall Sludden (all Tyrone)

PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year nominees
Lee Keegan (Mayo); Kieran McGeary, Conor Meyler (both Tyrone)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year nominees
Matthew Tierney (Galway), Oisín Mullin (Mayo), Darragh Canavan (Tyrone).

📮 Sign up to the OurGame newsletter — a daily email reminder of our latest videos, articles, quizzes and more.

Don’t forget to subscribe to the OurGame YouTube page for live streams and more.

You May Also Like


Who would you pick from Conor Meyler, Lee Keegan and Keiran McGeary as your 2021 Footballer of the Year? Get 15% off with...


Lee Keegan reflects on Mayo’s incredible comeback win over six-in-a-row All-Ireland champions Dublin at Croke Park. PATREON: Join the OurGame Supporters Club for €5...


Shane Stapleton and Michael Verney ask: who is the best wing-back in Gaelic football, in what is one of the most stacked positions in...

Best All-Ireland winners

We look at the Dublin team that went back-to-back under Jim Gavin in 2016 against Mickey Harte's bearded Tyrone brigade of 2008