Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Club Talk

Maghery title in 2020 all the sweeter for beating Crossmaglen this time

Neil Loughran of the Irish News reflecs on Corssmaglen’s three-in-a-row bid being ended by Maghery, for whom Aidan Forker scored 1-3

Neil Loughran of the Irish News joins Shane Stapleton to reflect on Corssmaglen’s three-in-a-row bid being ended by Maghery, for whom Aidan Forker scored 1-3.

Maghery beat Cullyhanna in the 2016 Armagh county title, but this time saw off kingpins Crossmaglen.

It took four goals to get the job done, securing a second county title for the outsiders, but Neil Loughran of the Irish News reckon it will have been all the sweeter against Cross’.

The latter had no been beaten in an Orchard County decider since 1982, and 1-3 from Armagh star Aidan Forker was key to that.

Click play on the video at the top of the page to watch a review of the final.

Armagh SFC final
Maghery 4-9 Crossmaglen 0-17, Athletic Grounds, 4pm 

Carlow SFC group stage
Eire Og 2-7 Mount Leinster Rangers 0-4, Netwatch Cullen Park, 1.30pm  
O’Hanrahan’s 2-12 Bagenalstown Gaels 1-11, Netwatch Cullen Park, 6pm  
Rathvilly 3-12 Tinryland 0-8, Netwatch Cullen Park, 7pm  

Clare SFC semi-final
Cratloe 2-16 St Breckan’s 1-15, Cusack Park, 5.45pm  
Kilmurry-Ibrickane 1-18 Lissycasey 3-11, Cusack Park, 2pm  

Donegal SFC semi-final
Naomh Conaill 1-10 St Eunan’s 0-12, MacCumhaill Park, 4.30pm AET
Kilcar 0-14 Gaoth Dobhair 1-6, O’Donnell Park, 5.30pm  

Donegal SFC relegation semi-final
Termon 1-11 Milford 0-8, O’Donnell Park, 2pm  

Down SFC semi-finals
Carryduff 2-13 Ballyholland 1-15, Pairc Esler, 3pm AET
Kilcoo 1-18 Warrenpoint 2-6, Pairc Esler, 7.30pm  

Down SFC relegation semi-final
Castlewellan 0-17 Glenn 2-11, Mayobridge, 5pm (AET, Castlewellan win 4-3 on penalties)

Dublin SFC semi-final
Ballymun Kickhams 1-18 Kilmacud Crokes 2-12, Parnell Park, 4.30pm 
Ballyboden St Enda’s 2-11 St Jude’s 1-11, Parnell Park, 5.30pm   

Fermanagh SFC semi-final
Ederney St Joseph’s 2-16 Teemore Shamrocks 3-7, Brewster Park, 7pm  

Fermanagh SFC relegation semi-finals
Roslea Shamrocks 0-7 Belnaleck Art McMurrough’s 0-5, Louis Leonard Memorial Park, 12pm  
Tempo Maguires 1-12 Erne Gaels 2-6, Derrygonnelly, 4pm  

Galway SFC quarter-finals
Mountbellew-Moylough 2-13 Killannin 1-5, Pearse Stadium, 2.30pm  
Moycullen 1-17 St James’ 2-9, Pearse Stadium, 5.30pm
Corofin 1-18 Salthill-Knocknacarra 0-9, Pearse Stadium, 2.30pm  
Tuam Stars 0-17 Bearna 0-16, Pearse Stadium, 5.30pm AET

Galway SFC relegation play-off
Caherlistrane 1-13 Micheal Breathnach 2-5, Kenny Park, 5pm  

Kerry SFC semi-final

Mid Kerry 3-20 Dr Crokes 3-19, Austin Stack Park, 7pm AET

Kerry SFC relegation play-off
Templenoe 3-18 Kilcummin 0-14, Fitzgerald Stadium, 1.30pm  

Kerry club SFC final
Austin Stacks 1-17 Kenmare Shamrocks 1-14, Fitzgerald Stadium, 3.30pm  

Kildare SFC round 3
Round Towers 3-13 Confey 1-6, Hawkfield, 1.45pm  
Celbridge 2-10 Naas 0-15, Newbridge, 1.45pm  
Athy 1-14 Monasterevan 0-10, Newbridge, 3.30pm  
Clane 0-13 Castledermot 0-12, Hawkfield, 3.30pm  
Johnstownbridge 4-15 Eadestown 3-8, Hawkfield, 1.45pm  
Sarsfields 3-10 St Laurence’s 1-13, Newbridge, 1.45pm  
Carbury 2-13 Maynooth 2-11, Hawkfield, 3.30pm  
Raheens 2-9 Moorefield 0-14, Newbridge, 3.30pm  

Leitrim SFC semi-final
St Mary’s Kiltoghert 2-14 Glencar-Manorhamilton 0-12, Pairc Sean MacDiarmada, 4.30pm 
Mohill 1-16 Fenagh 2-7, Pairc Sean MacDiarmada, 6pm  

Louth SFC relegation semi-finals
Mattock Rangers 0-14 Dreadnots 1-10, Darver, 3pm  
O’Connell’s 3-9 O’Raghallaigh’s 1-10, Darver, 5pm  

Sligo SFC relegation final
Geevagh 1-9 Eastern Harps 0-6, Corran Park, 5pm  

Tipperary SFC semi-final
Loughmore-Castleiney 0-18 Moyle Rovers 1-11, Boherlahan, 4.30pm  

Waterford SFC group stage
Rathgormack 3-16 Kilrossanty 0-6, Kill, 2pm  
Ballinacourty 1-24 Clashmore-Kinsalebeg 0-5, Fraher Field, 2.30pm  
The Nire 2-15 Gaultier 2-10, Lemybrien, 4pm  
Stradbally 0-15 An Rinn 0-10, Fraher Field, 6.30pm  

Westmeath SFC semi-finals
Tyrrellspass 0-16 Athlone 0-13, TEG Cusack Park, 2pm  
St Loman’s 0-13 The Downs 0-11, TEG Cusack Park, 5.30pm  

Westmeath SFC placings play-offs
Garrycastle 1-10 Killucan 0-10, Kilbeggan, 5.30pm  
Coralstown-Kinnegad 1-8 Rosemount 0-7, Castletown-Geoghegan, 5.30pm  

Westmeath SFC relegation play-off
Shandonagh 2-8 Castledaly 0-11, Tang, 2.30pm  

Wexford SFC quarter-finals
Shelmaliers 2-11 Glynn-Barntown 2-4, Chadwicks Wexford Park, 1.45pm  
Castletown 2-14 Sarsfields 0-8, Chadwicks Wexford Park, 5.30pm  

Wexford SFC round 1
Horeswood 2-11 Gusserane O’Rahilly’s 0-11, Chadwicks Wexford Park, 6pm  

📮 Sign up to the OurGame newsletter — a daily email reminder of our latest videos, articles, quizzes and more.

Don’t forget to subscribe to the OurGame YouTube page for live streams and more.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You May Also Like

Sticky Post

Armagh's win over Monaghan produced some spectacular scores from goalkeepers Rory Beggan and Ethan Rafferty


Shane Stapleton was at Croke Park to see the All-Ireland SHC final clash of Ballyhale Shamrocks v Dunloy. Visit For more exclusive content,...


Shane Stapleton and Michael Verney preview the All-Ireland club senior hurling clash between Ballyhale Shamrocks and Dunloy. 🎓Coaching Clinic — see our latest events...


Michael Verney chats with Wexford legend Ursula Jacob about the All-Ireland senior hurling semi-finals and the All-Ireland Camogie finals. 🎓Coaching Clinic — see our...