Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


OurGame Live #4 — debates and GAA news


Join us live at 12:30pm as Shane Stapleton, Fintan O’Toole of The42, and Michael Verney of the Independent pore over some big talking points and GAA news in our games.

In the latest of our ‘Best All-Ireland winners’ series, which looks at the last 16 sides to lift the Liam MacCarthy Cup, our panel looks at a quarter-final clash of two excellent sides.

This time, it’s a shootout between Clare 2013 and Kilkenny 2011.

Will the Marble County side that regained their crown from Tipperary beat Davy Fitzgerald’s thrilling Banner outfit?

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

After all the talking is done, the public will then decide via a poll on

In the latest of our ‘Sliding Doors’ moments, our trio analyse the impact of a bout of flu picked up by Brian Whelahan in the lead-up to the 1998 All-Ireland final.

The man wearing number 5 had a penchant for starring in the big games.

This time, however, illness would make his task even harder as Offaly faced old foes Kilkenny on the biggest stage.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

OurGame Live will also talk about footballers we didn’t quite see enough of over the years due to injury.

Michael Meehan shone brightly in the maroon of Galway, but persistent niggles prevented him from fully realising his talents.

Matt Connor of Offaly, Colm O’Neill of Cork, and Kerry star Tommy Walsh all broke hearts during their careers, but the curse of injuries curtailed their class to varying degrees.

Get your comments in now, or let us know your thoughts on the latest GAA news — either below or on our official Twitter page.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

📮 Sign up to the OurGame newsletter — a daily email reminder of our latest videos, articles, quizzes and more.

Don’t forget to subscribe to the OurGame YouTube page for live streams and more.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Who are the enduring, ageless stars of the GAA? We’re looking at legacy, Tom Brady setting an NFL record for passing yards, and going...

Best All-Ireland winners

Shane Stapleton and Michael Verney pit the Clare 2013 All-Ireland champions against the two-in-a-row Kilkenny brigade of 2007, in the first semi-final of our...

Best All-Ireland winners

In our best All-Ireland winner series, Jim Gavin's five-in-a-row side of 2019 are pitted against the Kerry crew that retained the Sam Maguire Cup...

Best All-Ireland winners

The Tipperary team that battered Kilkenny in the 2016 All-Ireland final is pitted against Kilkenny's all-conquering machine of 2008